Russell Grove

Mr Russell D. Grove


Russell Grove served the New South Wales Parliament for over forty years, having commenced duty in the Legislative Assembly in February 1971 and was the longest serving Clerk of the Legislative Assembly, having taken up that position in 1990. Russell was also the Honorary Secretary of the New South Wales Branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association from 1984 until his retirement from the Parliament of New South Wales on 4 November 2011. Russell has worked with various overseas Parliaments and aid authorities in preparation of programmes for the development of parliamentary processes in Africa, South East Asia, the Middle East and Pacific nations. Russell was an early promoter for the formation of the Australian and New Zealand Association of Clerks-at-the-Table (ANZACATT) and was the inaugural Secretary to the Association at its inception and is an Honorary Life Member of the Association.

During his career with the NSW Parliament, Mr Grove gained vast experience in the areas of parliamentary procedure and practice, parliamentary administration including shared joint services and inter-parliamentary relations through facilitating and participating in workshops, seminars and training attachments and is recognised as an expert in these areas.

Russell is a Fellow of the Institute of Public Administration Australia (IPAA), and a member of the Australasian Study of Parliament Group (ASPG). In 2011, Russell was made an Honorary Life Member of the Society of Clerks-at-the-Table in Commonwealth Parliaments (SOCATT), the Society of Clerks-at-the-Table in Canada; American Society of Legislative Clerks and Secretaries; the New South Wales Branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association; the Association of Former Members of the NSW Parliament; and a Life Member of City Tattersalls Club.

Russell has been awarded the Public Service Medal (2000) and Centenary of Federation Medal (2003) for service to the Parliament and is an Ambassador for the White Ribbon Campaign. Russell is also a Paul Harris Fellow (1997) and a Member of the North Sydney Rotary Club since 1191, serving as President in 2012-13. He is now a member of the Woy Woy Rotary Club.

In recognition of Russell’s meritorious service, and on the occasion of his retirement from the Parliament, Members of the Legislative Assembly unanimously resolved in the House on 20 October 2011 to extend to him the honorary title of Clerk Emeritus. Russell is married to Frances and has one adult daughter, Sarah-Jane.


Russell was born in Kyogle in northern New South Wales in 1950 and was educated at Kyogle High School. After matriculation he studied at the University of Sydney in St. Paul’s College. He gained his B.A. with majors in Government, History and Legal Studies.

He has been married to Frances since 1975 and they have one daughter Sarah-Jane who is a secondary school teacher following in her mother’s footsteps.

In the past Russell enjoyed swimming and was a member for the Evans Head Surf Life Saving Club. Today he plays tennis with the Pearl Beach Tennis and Recreation Club.

Other interests include the theatre, antique collecting and reading, in particular political biographies and international relations. During his career he has had the opportunity to travel widely in Africa, Asia, the Middle East, Pacific, Canada, the USA, the Caribbean and the UK, participating in parliamentary conferences and seminars. He has traveled with Parliamentary Delegations to China, Japan, South Korea and Thailand.

Russell’s Paul Harris Fellowship was awarded for his work in the area of promoting parliamentary democracy in the developing world. Since his retirement in 2011 he has continued this work through various aid agencies.

Frances and Russell have had a weekender in Pearl Beach since 1997, moving there permanently in 2011 following his retirement.